LibGuides: Dental Hygiene: Find Sources

Start Searching

OneSearch doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.

Find Sources

Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study
Intended for an academic audience

The following databases are a good place to find information on the field of Acupuncture:

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Content includes thousands of images, interactive self-assessments, case files, and diagnostic tools to more than 60 clinical reference and medical education resources
Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care. Contains full text from professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters.
AMED This link opens in a new window
A specialized database designed for physicians, therapists, medical researchers, historians and clinicians with information about alternative and allied therapies and related subjects.
CINAHIL This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles about nursing and allied health including nursing interventions, education, theory, and history as well as physical and occupational therapy.
Cochrane Library
A collection of various evidence based medicine databases providing information on treatments and medical interventions to support effective decision making in practice.
Dentistry and Oral Science Source This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database for dental practitioners and researchers containing dental and oral sciences journals
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
NatMed Pro is the industry's most comprehensive library of knowledge about dietary supplements and natural medicines.Authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal abstracts about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology. Log in to the UB library database page to see if full text of these articles are available.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and e-books covering social sciences and hard sciences from 1995 to the present.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Provides current, evidence-based, physician-authored and peer reviewed clinical information for healthcare professionals in over 10,500 topics in 22 specialties.

Unlike journal articles, scholarly books:

Are written on a broader, general subject
May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors
Contain less recent information

Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!

To find books and e-books using OneSearch, on the results page check the box on the left-hand side of the page that says

Browse print books

Find shelves on 3rd floor with call number ranges below.
Books within these call number ranges are by subject, so you can find other related books.

Keyword	Call # range
anatomy	QM 1 – QM 695
physiology	QP1 – QP 981
dentistry	RK

University of Bridgeport uses two major eBook Databases, they are “eBook Central” and “eBook Collection”. You can search both of the linked databases, we have compiled a list of some eBooks you have access to start your research.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of e-books on a wide range of subjects.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Thousands of e-books on a wide range of subjects.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable.
Handbook of Traditional Chinese Medicine This link opens in a new window
This 3-volume set discusses the principle theories of traditional Chinese medicine and presents a comprehensive daily practice guide for health maintenance and disease treatment. The book provides clinical practitioners with a fundamental understanding of the essence of TCM.

Web Pages:

Medical Searches:

MedNar
MedNar is a federated search that focuses on medical information, you would be able to find more in-depth information than on a typical search. This service searches commercial sites as well as government sites, and allows you to limit results by type. MedNar also suggests medical subject headings (MeSH) for searches, as well a medical dictionary. This would be a good place to make an initial search to seek out information regarding a specific term.
TRIP
TRIP is is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. The site also allows clinicians to search across other content types including: images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses, and news.

Additional Resources:

CDC National Center for Health Statistics: Oral & Dental Health
The Center for Disease Control’s statistics regarding Oral and Dental Health. This information focuses on the United States. There are a variety of reports that focus demographics, examples being age, race, and certain environmental factors.
CDC Oral Health Data
The data displayed here is sources from sources Water Fluoridation Reporting System (WFRS), Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), State Oral Health Surveys, Indian Health Service (IHS) Oral Health Surveys and ASTDD’s Annual Synopsis of State Oral Health Programs.
ClinicalTrials.gov
A searchable database, run by the National Library of Medicine, of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
MedlinePlus: Dental Health
The National Library of Medicine has put this page together as a starting place for gathering online information about dental health. Although aimed at consumers there is much here of interest to dental hygienists, especially the sections on Latest News.
NIH National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research: Data and Statistics
The National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research organizes their statistics by topic, and by demographic information, making it very easy to use to find relevant statistics.
OSHA Safety and Health Topics: Dentistry
This page focuses on the workplace hazards that are common within the dental professions. Some examples of the workplace hazards range from pathogens and chemical dangers to ergonomic issues. The information on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Labor.
HIVdent
HIVdent is a nonprofit coalition of concerned health care professionals committed to assuring access to high quality oral health care services for adults, adolescents, & children living with HIV disease. HIVdent disseminates state-of-the-art treatment.
MedLine Plus’ Medical Terminology Encyclopedia
MedLine Plus’ information is from National Library of Medicine. This page links to the A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

Dental Hygiene

Citation Resources

Guides:

Tools:

Start Searching

Find Sources

Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.

Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study

Intended for an academic audience