LibGuides: Accounting &amp; finance subject guide: Find Sources

Start Searching

OneSearch doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.

Find Sources

Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study
Intended for an academic audience

The following databases are a good place to find information on the field of accounting and finance.

AB/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Includes articles, dissertations, news content and reports covering the various areas of business, advertising, insurance, public administration, real estate, and telecommunications
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and e-books covering social sciences and hard sciences from 1995 to the present.

Unlike journal articles, scholarly books:

Are written on a broader, general subject
May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors
Contain less recent information

Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!

To find books and e-books using OneSearch, on the results page check the box on the left-hand side of the page that says

Select Accounting & Finance Websites

Accounting Today Free membership registration. Provides tax and accounting related news and editorial analysis. Includes a daily newswire, daily columns, and Podcasts of interviews with leaders in the accounting profession. After registering for a free membership, visitors can get daily and bi-weekly e-mail newsletters, access to the journal rankings such as Top 100 Firms, Top 100 People, Top 100 Products and other special reports. Includes online access to the contents of Accounting Today and CPA Wealth Provider. It also provides access to the archives.

Yahoo Finance Find the latest company news and company profiles, excellent charts, key statistics, financial statements, current and historical stock quotes going back to 1986, top ten competitors and SEC filings.

Accounting & finance subject guide

Citation Resources

Guides

APA Style Reference Examples

APA Formatting

Tools

MyBib is a free bibliography and citation generator.

Zotero

Mendeley

EndNote

The University provides all students and employees with a free subscription to Endnote.

Start Searching

Find Sources

Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.

Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study

Intended for an academic audience

The following databases are a good place to find information on the field of accounting and finance.

Unlike journal articles, scholarly books:

Are written on a broader, general subject

May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors

Contain less recent information

Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!

To find books and e-books using OneSearch, on the results page check the box on the left-hand side of the page that says

Select Accounting & Finance Websites

AICPA Online (American Institute of Certified Public Accountants)

American Accounting Association

Connecticut State Board of Accountancy

FASAB (Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board)

FASB (Financial Accounting Standards Board)

GASB (Governmental Accounting Standards Board)

IFRS (International Financial Reporting Standards)

PCAOB (Public Company Accounting Oversight Board)

Yahoo Finance Find the latest company news and company profiles, excellent charts, key statistics, financial statements, current and historical stock quotes going back to 1986, top ten competitors and SEC filings.