OneSearch doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.
Selected Education Journals
CT State Department of Education – The Connecticut State Department of Education is the administrative arm of the Connecticut State Board of Education. Through leadership, curriculum, research, planning, evaluation, assessment, data analyses and other assistance, the Department helps to ensure equal opportunity and excellence in education for all Connecticut students.
Educause – A nonprofit association whose mission is to advance higher education by promoting the intelligent use of information technology.
WhatWorks – The What Works Clearinghouse was established in 2002 by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences to provide educators, policymakers, researchers, and the public with a central and trusted source of scientific evidence of what works in education.
Institute of Education Sciences – This is the statistics, research and evaluation section of the United States Department of Education. It is indicated as non-partisan and independent, providing scientific evidence to support education policy.
Harvard’s Gutman Library’s websites for educators – A selective list of websites curated by Harvard’s Graduate School of Education – Gutman Library of resources on topics including special education, bilingual education, adult education, early childhood education and much more.
National Science Teaching Association – Founded in 1944, the NSTA is committed to promotion of innovation and the highest qualitative standards for the teaching of STEM education in the U.S.
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
The Census Bureau provides information on a variety of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment to school costs and financing. Topic areas covered in this section include: educational attainment, school enrollment, public school system finances, school districts, teaching about statistics, and educational services.
U.S. Department of Education data and statistics page with many useful links to overview-type sources from NCES, FAFSA, FERPA, and more.
Since 1968, the U.S. Department of Education has conducted the Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC) to collect data on key education and civil rights issues in our nation's public schools.The CRDC collects a variety of information including student enrollment and educational programs and services, most of which is disaggregated by race/ethnicity, sex, limited English proficiency, and disability.
Online table and regression maker tools featuring 30+ federal education datasets. Contains three powerful tools for your analytical needs: QuickStats – Allows novice users to create simple tables and charts; PowerStats – Allows researchers to create complex tables and logistic and linear regressions; and TrendStats – Allows researchers to create complex tables spanning multiple data collection years. Also, contains the Tables Library which houses 5000+ published analysis tables by topic, publication, and source.
The Common Core of Data (CCD) is the Department of Education's primary database on public elementary and secondary education in the United States. CCD is a comprehensive, annual, national database of all public elementary and secondary schools and school districts.
The Elementary/Secondary Information System (ElSi) is an NCES web application that allows users to quickly view public and private school data and create custom tables and charts using data from the Common Core of Data (CCD) and Private School Survey (PSS).
The data for this search tool comes directly from the 30,000 plus private schools that responded to the 2003-2004 Private School Universe Survey (PSS) conducted by the National Center for Education Statistics. From Common Core of Data (CCD).
Use the Search For Public School Districts locator to retrieve information on all U.S. public school districts. This data is collected annually directly from State Education Agencies (SEAs).
Use the Search For Public Schools locator to retrieve information on all U.S. public schools. This data is collected annually directly from State Education Agencies (SEAs). From Common Core of Data (CCD).
College Navigator is your direct link to nearly 7,000 colleges and universities in the United States. If you are thinking about a large university, a small liberal arts college, a specialized college, a community college, a career or technical college or a trade school, you can find information on all of them here.
College Results Online (CRO) is an interactive, user-friendly Web tool designed to provide policymakers, counselors, parents, students, and others with information about college graduation rates for nearly any four-year college or university in the country.
Access IPEDS data submitted to NCES through data tools or download the data to conduct your research.
School-level statistics on average annual cost of attendance, student loan debt, & loan repayment.
The National Reporting System for Adult Education (NRS) is an outcome-based reporting system for the State-administered, federally funded adult education program.
The Child & Family Data Archive (C&F Data Archive) is the place to discover, access, and analyze data on early care, education, and families. C&F Data Archive hosts datasets about young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them.
The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
The NCES Education Demographic and Geographic Estimates (EDGE) program designs and develops information resources to help understand the social and spatial context of education in the U.S. It uses data from the U.S. Census Bureau’s American Community Survey to create custom indicators of social, economic, and housing conditions for school-age children and their parents.
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the only assessment that measures what U.S. students know and can do in various subjects across the nation, states, and in some urban districts. Also known as The Nation’s Report Card, NAEP has provided important information about how students are performing academically since 1969. NAEP is a congressionally mandated project administered by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
The National Teacher and Principal Survey (NTPS) is a system of related questionnaires that provide descriptive data on the context of public and private elementary and secondary education in addition to giving local, state, and national policymakers a variety of statistics on the condition of education in the United States.
Welcome to the STEM Education Resource website, where you can discover the answers to important questions on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and careers using the information from the National Science Board’s Science and Engineering Indicators report.
The National Center for Special Education Research (NCSER) supports a comprehensive program of education research designed to expand knowledge and understanding of infants, toddlers, and children with disabilities and those at risk for disabilities.
Adapted from CECH Library @ University of Cincinnati