LibGuides: Engineering subject guide: Find Sources

Start Searching

OneSearch doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.

Find Sources

Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study
Intended for an academic audience

The following databases are a good place to find information on the field of enigineering

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles published by the Association for Computing Machinery, in the form of citations or full text. Documents include newsletters, transcripts of meetings and workshops, as well as company publications.
ASME This link opens in a new window
The authoritative, online reference of current and archival literature from The American Society of Mechanical Engineers. It provides peer-reviewed content including journals, conference proceedings and ASME Press books.
FAITS – Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides a broad range of over 1,200 technology reports, as well as vendor directories and a comprehensive IT glossary. Browse FAITS by subject area, report type, or search by keyword. Convenient links to several online technology and business news resources, as well as direct links to bibliographic resources, are also included.
IEEE Explore This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, conference proceedings, and IEEE Standards in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Synthesis Lectures on Mobile and Pervasive Computing This link opens in a new window
A collection of online lectures covering the topics of mobile and pervasive computing
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and e-books covering social sciences and hard sciences from 1995 to the present.

Unlike journal articles, scholarly books:

Are written on a broader, general subject
May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors
Contain less recent information

Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!

To find books and e-books using OneSearch, on the results page check the box on the left-hand side of the page that says

Select Engineering Websites

Discover Engineering – DiscoverE started 30 years ago and has a focus on introducing K-12 students to the field of engineering. Supported by numerous multi-national corporations.

Engineering.com – Global news, information, games and resource listings (including job listings) for engineers headquartered in Ontario, Canada.

EngrXIV: Open Archive of Engineering -A great source for open papers and preprints in the fields of engineering.

eFunda – Engineering fundamentals and a formula resource.

Eng-Tips Forums – Discussion forums for engineering professionals, including chemical, electrical, and mechanical.

FreePatentsOnline.com – Powerful online patent search engine.

Engineering 360 – Listing of engineering products and suppliers.

The Engineering Toolbox – Resources, calculators, tools and basic information for engineering professionals.

NTRL (National Technical Information Services) -Current U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information.

Engineering subject guide

Citation Resources

Guides

APA Style Reference Examples

APA Formatting

Tools

MyBib is a free bibliography and citation generator.

Zotero

Mendeley

EndNote

The University provides all students and employees with a free subscription to Endnote.

Start Searching

Find Sources

Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.

Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study

Intended for an academic audience

The following databases are a good place to find information on the field of enigineering

Unlike journal articles, scholarly books:

Are written on a broader, general subject

May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors

Contain less recent information

Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!

To find books and e-books using OneSearch, on the results page check the box on the left-hand side of the page that says

Select Engineering Websites