Select Business Websites
BizStats – Statistical information tailored to the small business community. Provides benchmarking for specific industries as well as national business statistics.
BPlans – Bplans.com contains the largest single collection of free sample business plans online as well as helpful tools and know-how for business management.
Bureau of Economic Analysis – Provided by the United States Department of Commerce, the BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau and STAT-USA, BEA is part of the Department’s Economics and Statistics Administration. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation’s economy.
Bureau of Labor Statistics – This government web site provides one stop shopping for the major economic indicators. Check the Consumer Price Index, Producer Price Index, Unemployment figures, and Productivity. Both national and state figures are available through this site.
Business Reference Services - A subject list of various business resources curated by the Library of Congress
U.S. Census Bureau – The Census Bureau can provide a wealth of statistical information that may be instrumental to business policy and forecasts. This site will provide access to data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau, including information on economic indicators, manufacturing, retail trade, and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
Business Expenditure Survey – Produced by the United States Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
CNN Business – This is a site for keeping current with business news. Look up stock quotes and read the headlines.
CNBC– Is a world leader in business news and real-time financial market coverage. Find fast, actionable information.
OECD online – As well as collecting data, the OECD monitors trends, analyses and forecasts economic developments and researches social changes or evolving patterns in trade, environment, agriculture, technology, taxation and more. The Organization provides a setting where governments compare policy experiences, seek answers to common problems, identify good practice and coordinate domestic and international policies.
WeTeachSuccess - The CEDF Business Education Center is an initiative of the Community Economic Development Fund that offers learning in a variety of formats. This dedicated website, houses content that we judge to have ongoing usefulness to our borrowers and other small business owners and aspirants.
World Industrial Reporter – Covers product introductions, new materials & technologies, plant openings, enhanced manufacturing processes, and much more. Additional content on the World Industrial Reporter website includes the latest trends in global markets, logistics, industrial trade shows, and supplier sourcing.
Select International Business Websites
globalEDGE - This website offers a wealth of information about international business. The Global Insights section "provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world's trade blocs." The "Reference Desk" provides access to resources on international trade laws and statistical data sources for international business.
International Monetary Fund – IMF – Founded in 1945 in the aftermath of WWII the IMF is an international organization with 189 member countries. It strives to establish an international monetary system in order to create conditions that will promote global trade, establish international financial stability, and secure economic growth while seeking to reduce poverty.
CIA World Factbook – An excellent resource for global economics statistics on individual countries.
WTO – World Trade Organization – As an international organization, the WTO also provides a forum for countries to negotiate trade agreements as well as settle trade disputes. Decisions are crafted and made by the member countries.
U.S. Bureau of Labor statistics – Import/Export Price Indexes – US government statistics “containing data on changes in the prices of nonmilitary goods and services traded between the U.S. and the rest of the world.”
World Bank – 189 member countries make up the World Bank and serves as a key source of financial and technical resources to assist developing nations in order to reduce poverty levels and assist with development. The world Bank is not a bank in the traditional sense but comprises five institutions managed by the member countries.
Unlike journal articles, scholarly books:
