LibGuides: Nursing: Find Sources

Start Searching

OneSearch doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.

Find Sources

Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study
Intended for an academic audience

The following databases are a good place to find information on the field of Acupuncture:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A very large scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for thousands of scholarly publications, and peer-reviewed publications.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Content includes thousands of images, interactive self-assessments, case files, and diagnostic tools to more than 60 clinical reference and medical education resources
Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care. Contains full text from professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters.
AMED This link opens in a new window
A specialized database designed for physicians, therapists, medical researchers, historians and clinicians with information about alternative and allied therapies and related subjects.
CINAHIL This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles about nursing and allied health including nursing interventions, education, theory, and history as well as physical and occupational therapy.
Cochrane Library
A collection of various evidence based medicine databases providing information on treatments and medical interventions to support effective decision making in practice.
HerbMedPro
An interactive, electronic herbal database that provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an evidence-based information resource for professionals, researchers, and the general public.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
NatMed Pro is the industry's most comprehensive library of knowledge about dietary supplements and natural medicines.Authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
NatMed Pro is the industry's most comprehensive library of knowledge about dietary supplements and natural medicines.Authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
Ovid Nursing Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from many premier nursing journals including: AJN, American Journal of Nursing, Critical Care Nursing Quarterly, Nurse Practitioner, and Nursing.
PsychInfo This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal abstracts about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology. Log in to the UB library database page to see if full text of these articles are available.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and e-books covering social sciences and hard sciences from 1995 to the present.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Provides current, evidence-based, physician-authored and peer reviewed clinical information for healthcare professionals in over 10,500 topics in 22 specialties.

Unlike journal articles, scholarly books:

Are written on a broader, general subject
May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors
Contain less recent information

Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!

To find books and e-books using OneSearch, on the results page check the box on the left-hand side of the page that says

Browse print books

Find shelves on 3rd floor with call number ranges below.
Books within these call number ranges are by subject, so you can find other related books.

Keyword	Call # range
Nursing	RT 1 – RT 120
Specialties in Nursing	RT 89 – RT 120

University of Bridgeport uses two major eBook Databases, they are “eBook Central” and “eBook Collection”. You can search both of the linked databases, we have compiled a list of some eBooks you have access to start your research.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of e-books on a wide range of subjects.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Thousands of e-books on a wide range of subjects.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable.

eTextbook:

In addition to the previously mentioned eBook Databases, as a student of University of Bridgeport, you are also granted access to the following textbook:

Handbook of Traditional Chinese Medicine This link opens in a new window
This 3-volume set discusses the principle theories of traditional Chinese medicine and presents a comprehensive daily practice guide for health maintenance and disease treatment. The book provides clinical practitioners with a fundamental understanding of the essence of TCM.

Web Pages:

Medical Searches:

MedNar
MedNar is a federated search that focuses on medical information, you would be able to find more in-depth information than on a typical search. This service searches commercial sites as well as government sites, and allows you to limit results by type. MedNar also suggests medical subject headings (MeSH) for searches, as well a medical dictionary. This would be a good place to make an initial search to seek out information regarding a specific term.
TRIP
TRIP is is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. The site also allows clinicians to search across other content types including: images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses, and news.

Additional Resources:

ClinicalTrials.gov
A searchable database, run by the National Library of Medicine, of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
The National Institute of Health’s Herb List
This resource is an app you can download to either iOS or Android. It was created by the National Institute of Health, and contains information on potential safety problems, side effects, and herb-drug interactions with additional links to resources for more information. They can also mark favorite herbs for quick recall and offline accessibility.
Medline Plus: Herbs and Supplements
This database focuses on herbal remedies and their effectiveness, usual doses, and drug interactions. The information comes from the National Center of Complementary and Integrative Health and the Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.
Merck Manual – Professional Version
Information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for health care professionals in mind.
MedLine Plus’ Medical Terminology Encyclopedia
MedLine Plus’ information is from National Library of Medicine. This page links to the A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Interagency Collaborative on Nursing Statistics (ICONS)
Promotes the generation of data and research on the nursing workforce. Members of ICONS include representatives from numerous organizations and government agencies that have expressed a commitment to research about nurses, nursing education, and the nursing workforce through their missions, goals, or strategic plans.
The National Library of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine is operated by the United States Government. It conducts and supports research in methods for recording, storing, retrieving, preserving, and communicating health information.

Certification:

American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)
Promotes excellence in nursing and health care globally through credentialing programs.
Nursing License Map
A simple guide to nursing licensure in your state, helping you to advance your nursing career.
NCLEX-RN Test Prep
A NCLEX test prep question set.
Vivian: Connecticut’s License Guide
This guide contains information about obtaining your nursing license in Connecticut. They also have information about other states licensure, as well as a job board.

Professional and Academic Societies:

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality’s (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.
Nursing World (American Nuses Association/ANA)
The ANA, representing the interests of the nation’s 3.4 million registered nurses through its constituent and state nurses associations and its organizational affiliates, advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
Sigma Theta Tau International – Honor Society of Nursing
The invitation-only Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, works to advance world health and celebrate nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service.

Nursing

Citation Resources

Guides:

Tools:

Start Searching

Find Sources

Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.

Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study

Intended for an academic audience