LibGuides: Public Health: Find Sources

Start Searching

OneSearch doesn't have everything! Check out the tabs below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.

Find Sources

Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study
Intended for an academic audience

The following databases are a good place to find information on the field of Acupuncture:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A very large scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for thousands of scholarly publications, and peer-reviewed publications.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Content includes thousands of images, interactive self-assessments, case files, and diagnostic tools to more than 60 clinical reference and medical education resources
Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care. Contains full text from professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters.
AMED This link opens in a new window
A specialized database designed for physicians, therapists, medical researchers, historians and clinicians with information about alternative and allied therapies and related subjects.
CINAHIL This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles about nursing and allied health including nursing interventions, education, theory, and history as well as physical and occupational therapy.
Cochrane Library
A collection of various evidence based medicine databases providing information on treatments and medical interventions to support effective decision making in practice.
Dentistry and Oral Science Source This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database for dental practitioners and researchers containing dental and oral sciences journals
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
HerbMedPro
An interactive, electronic herbal database that provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an evidence-based information resource for professionals, researchers, and the general public.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
NatMed Pro is the industry's most comprehensive library of knowledge about dietary supplements and natural medicines.Authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal abstracts about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology. Log in to the UB library database page to see if full text of these articles are available.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and e-books covering social sciences and hard sciences from 1995 to the present.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Provides current, evidence-based, physician-authored and peer reviewed clinical information for healthcare professionals in over 10,500 topics in 22 specialties.

Unlike journal articles, scholarly books:

Are written on a broader, general subject
May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors
Contain less recent information

Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!

To find books and e-books using OneSearch, on the results page check the box on the left-hand side of the page that says

Browse print books

Find shelves on 3rd floor with call number ranges below.
Books within these call number ranges are by subject, so you can find other related books.

Keyword: Call Number/Range

Dermatology	RL 1-803
Gynecology and Obstetrics	RG 1-991
Human Anatomy	QM
Human Physiology	QP
Internal Medicine	RC 31-1245
Pathology	RB 1-214
Pediatrics	RJ 1-570
Surgery	RD 1-811
Therapeutics	RM 1-950

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of e-books on a wide range of subjects.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Thousands of e-books on a wide range of subjects.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable.

eTextbook:

In addition to the previously mentioned eBook Databases, as a student of University of Bridgeport, you are also granted access to the following textbook:

Handbook of Traditional Chinese Medicine This link opens in a new window
This 3-volume set discusses the principle theories of traditional Chinese medicine and presents a comprehensive daily practice guide for health maintenance and disease treatment. The book provides clinical practitioners with a fundamental understanding of the essence of TCM.

Web Pages:

Medical Searches:

MedNar
MedNar is a federated search that focuses on medical information, you would be able to find more in-depth information than on a typical search. This service searches commercial sites as well as government sites, and allows you to limit results by type. MedNar also suggests medical subject headings (MeSH) for searches, as well a medical dictionary. This would be a good place to make an initial search to seek out information regarding a specific term.
TRIP
TRIP is is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. The site also allows clinicians to search across other content types including: images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses, and news.

Additional Resources:

American Medical Informatics Association
Promotes the science, education and profession of health care Informatics.
American Public Health Association
Advocates for science-based public health information, working to influence federal public health policies.
Association for Career and Technical Education – Health Science Education Division
Instructors, administrators, applied academics instructors, local and state supervisors, teacher educators and others who are dedicated to educating tomorrow’s health care workers.
Cells Alive
A site that promotes study of cellular biology through interactive videos, games and puzzles, filled with images that enhance learning.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Works to protect America from health, safety and security threats.
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine’s EBM Tools
Develops, teaches and promotes evidence-based health care through a variety of methods.
ClinicalTrials.gov
A searchable database, run by the National Library of Medicine, of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Connecticut Department of Public Health
Promotes public health initiatives in CT.
Health Resources and Services Administration
The primary Federal agency for improving health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable.
Historical Anatomies on the Web (National Library of Medicine)
A digital project sponsored by the NLM offering high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the Library’s collection.
Medline Plus: Herbs and Supplements
This database focuses on herbal remedies and their effectiveness, usual doses, and drug interactions. The information comes from the National Center of Complementary and Integrative Health and the Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.
MedLine Plus’ Medical Terminology Encyclopedia
MedLine Plus’ information is from National Library of Medicine. This page links to the A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Merck Manual – Professional Version
Information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for health care professionals in mind.
National Consortium for Health Science Education
A national partnership of individuals and organizations with a vested interest in health science education.
The National Institute of Health’s Herb List
This resource is an app you can download to either iOS or Android. It was created by the National Institute of Health, and contains information on potential safety problems, side effects, and herb-drug interactions with additional links to resources for more information. They can also mark favorite herbs for quick recall and offline accessibility.
The National Library of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine is operated by the United States Government. It conducts and supports research in methods for recording, storing, retrieving, preserving, and communicating health information.
World Health Organization
Directs and coordinates international health within the United Nations’ system, supporting government’s public health policies and strategies.

Statistical Information:

Within the linked resources, you will be able to find resources that are more specific.

CDC: Data and Statistics
This page would be a good starting point, as you are able to browse by topic. You can find results of survey, and other publications produced by the CDC.
CDC: FastStats
This resource offers statistics, and they can be further broken down by specific populations.
CDC: Health Data Interactive
This resource has the ability to make tables of national health statistics. This resource includes a variety of topics, such as life expectancy, risk factors and many more allowing you to customize the data tables with the areas that are relevant to you.
CDC: Wonder
A portal to several CDC databases concerning health-related topics for public health information and numerical data sets such as AIDS/STDs, risk behaviors (the Behavioral Risk Surveillance System), mortality and natality statistics.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Program Statistics
Detailed summary statistics on national health care, Medicare populations, utilization, and expenditures, as well as counts for Medicare-certified institutional and non-institutional providers.
DataFinder
Topical access to health and human services related data from NHHS, other federal agencies, states and local governments.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The NCHS is a unit of the CDC, and primarily focuses on delivering statistics.
U.S. Data and Statistics
General government statistics portal.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (DHHS)
Most of the data related to the United States national health can be found within reports produced by the DHHS
United States Census Health Statistics
Provides up-to-date statistics—covering people and business—relating to health in America.
World Health Organization
Directs and coordinates international health within the United Nations’ system, supporting government’s public health policies and strategies.

State Statistics:

Demographic Statistics:

CDC: Health of American Indian or Alaskan Native Population
CDC: Health of Asian or Pacific Islander Population
CDC: Health of Black or African American Population
CDC: Health of Hispanic or Latino Population
CDC: Health of Mexican American Population
CDC: Women's Health
Indian Health Service: Division of Program Statistics
The Division of Program Statistics provides information about American Indian and Alaska Native’s patient care information. It includes health trends and regional differences as well.
Inter-University Consortium on Political and Social Research: Resource Center for Minority Data
Kaiser Family Foundation: Racial Equity and Health Policy
Kaiser Family Foundation: Women's Health Policy
Office of Minority Health: Minority Population Profiles
Office on Women's Health: Quick Health Data Online

Public Health

Citation Resources

Guides:

Tools: