Skip to Main Content

OpenAthens

This guide will help you navigate the changes associated with our new library resource authentication.

How to Create/Update Resource Links

Why use permalinks?

A  permalink or persistent link is a URL that connects directly to a specific full-text article or book in a library database. Persistent links do not get updated or changed. It can also be referred to as one of the following:

  • permanent link
  • persistent link 
  • stable link
  • durable link
  • document link

Using permalinks ensures copyright compliance when linking to items from Canvas or other course webpages. If you host an article directly within Canvas, you may be infringing on someone's copyrighted work. Additionally, when you link to the articles, it allows the library to count the number of times a resource is used. These counts are important in the justification of our library expenditures.

Creating OpenAthens Links

Use the OpenAthens link generator to create links to specific library resources. 

  1. Paste a permalink or stable URL for the resource you would like to link to in the box and press enter.
  2. Copy the generated URL.
  3. TEST the link to ensure it works 
  4. Use the copied URL to link to the source.

IMPORTANT The OpenAthens link generator should not be used for resources found in Ebsco, ProQuest, Gale, and Kanopy databases or for old links that contain libproxy.bridgeport.edu anywhere in the URL . Please see the next two tabs for help in reconstructing those links.

Updating links with libproxy.bridgeport.edu in the URL

Resources/databases that begin with http(s)://libproxy.bridgeport.edu/login?url= : 

http://libproxy.bridgeport.edu/login?url= 

OR  

https://libproxy.bridgeport.edu/login?url= 

  1. Remove the http(s)://libproxy.bridgeport.edu/login?url=  

  1. Replace with https://go.openathens.net/redirector/goodwin.edu?url= 

Example: 

https://libproxy.bridgeport.edu/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com 

will be changed to : 

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/goodwin.edu?url=https://www.credoreference.com 

 

Links to resources/databases that contain libproxy.bridgeport.edu elsewhere in the URL: 

Please replace the URL with the updated URLs provided here: A-Z database list

Please note: Some permalinks to individual items in a resource may not be recoverable and you may need to navigate to item again (by typing in the title, for instance) and creating a new permalink.

Special Links: Ebsco, Gale, Kanopy and Proquest Links

Ebsco, Gale, Kanopy and Proquest databases don't use the OpenAthens prefix in their URLs. Instead, they require an account ID or other identifier in their URLs to detect allowed usage.

  • Ebsco
    • Example: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,shib&custid=unbridpt&group=main&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
    • Use the Permalink function in Ebsco to copy links easily.
  • ProQuest
    • Example: https://search.proquest.com/news?accountid=26484
    • Click All Options or Cite function and copy link
  • ProQuest E-Book Central
    • Example: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/bridgeport-ebooks
    • Use the Share Link  icon to copy links easily.
  • Gale
    • Example:https://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?userGroupName=a22ub&prodId=GVRL
    • Use the Get link/Link icon to copy links easily.
  • Kanopy
    • Example: https://bridgeport.kanopy.com
    • Copy the video URL of the selected video.

Examples of how to find permalinks in Ebsco, JSTOR and ProQuest databases

For your reference, above is a list of new (OpenAthens) URLs and old (libproxy) URLs.  You can use these when updating database/resource links for your course materials and bookmarks.